Upper 4 Limbs of Yoga – Day 22 – 2021 – Samadhi – Enlightenment / Integration

Happy June 11, 2021 – Samadhi (Enlightenment / Integration)

Good Morning Yogis! We are in the middle of a month focused on meditation for June. We typically spend more time practicing the lower limbs, but during meditation months we will take couple days to cover each of the four upper limbs, rather than combining into one.

We already covered Pratyahara or withdrawal of the senses , Dharana or Intense Focus, and Dhyana or Full Meditation.

Bonus Daily Meditation Challenge

We have a bonus daily meditation challenge for March. Learn about Samadhi and try today’s positive practice suggestion or a meditation of your choice!

yogi blue gray background

Samadhi (Enlightenment / Integration)

As we have discussed, the upper limbs build upon all four of the previous limbs, and sequentially upon each other. These practices are all meditation focused and must truly be attained on your own. The last three limbs – Dharana, Dhyana, and Samadhi are often referred to as the “innermost quest” and studied together.

Samadhi is the 8th and final Limb of Yoga, and is literally translated as “integration”. Many consider Samadhi to be enlightenment. This is typically the final goal of meditation in some Eastern religions and philosophies – enlightenment. I consider Samadhi to be not only the final Limb of Yoga, but a synonym for Yoga. Samadhi is “integration” and yoga is “union” so I feel these are two words for the same goal. As we have discussed, this is a journey.

Today’s Positive Practice suggestion

Today’s Daily Yogi Practice is to try a Meditation Practice of your choice for Upper Limbs Day. You can try our breath-focused meditation, another Dharana focused meditation, or another guided meditation of your choice.

Want more on Meditation?
Check our Meditation Board on Pinterest!

More Positive Practices

Missed yesterday’s post? Read it here!

Related Positive Practices

Share your Practice

Please comment and let us know which meditation you tried, and what you thought of this study of the Upper Limbs of Yoga! If you have another favorite guided meditation, please share the link! Always remember, be kind!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.